Pocono result tightens standings

Pocono result tightens standings

Postby meteorite » Sun Aug 23, 2015 9:44 pm

Hunter-Reay Leads 1-2 American Finish at Pocono Raceway ABC Supply 500

LONG POND, Pa. (Aug. 23, 2015) - Ryan Hunter-Reay led a 1-2 American finish ahead of Josef Newgarden in the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono Raceway, and Juan Pablo Montoya's third-place finish extended his championship points lead heading into the Verizon IndyCar Series season finale Aug. 30.

There were 12 different drivers to lead laps - half of the field - in the 200-lap race on the 2.5-mile triangular oval and 13 cars retired because of contact or mechanical issues.

There also were 12 caution periods - the 11th yellow flag displayed on Lap 180 for the single-car crash of race leader Sage Karam in Turn 1. Debris from the incident hit the trailing Justin Wilson's No. 25 Andretti Autosport Honda. Wilson was transported by helicopter to Lehigh Valley Health Network Cedar Crest Hospital in Allentown, Pa., with a severe head injury. Wilson, 37, from Sheffield, England, is currently in a coma and in critical condition while undergoing further evaluation.

Karam, from nearby Nazareth, Pa., was transported by ground to the same hospital for examination of a right foot injury. INDYCAR will update the drivers' conditions as details become available.

Six title contenders remain, and with the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma on Aug. 30 carrying double base points, the title remains up for grabs. Montoya, who has stood atop the standings since winning the season opener on the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla., in March, entered the third 500-mile race of the season with a nine-point lead over the surging Graham Rahal.

Montoya heads to the 2.385-mile, 12-turn Sonoma Raceway road course with a 34-point advantage over the third-year Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver, whose car was involved in contact on a Lap 93 restart. Scott Dixon, Helio Castroneves, Will Power and Newgarden also remain eligible for the Astor Cup.

"We took our time and were smart," said Montoya, who qualified a season-low 19th in the No. 2 Verizon team Penske Chevrolet. "I think we had a car that could win the race, but it wasn't worth risking it (with title contenders running behind him). We did what we needed to do today."

Hunter-Reay, driving the No. 28 DHL Honda for Andretti Autosport, won for the second time this season and 16th time in his Indy car career. Newgarden, also a two-time winner this season in the No. 67 Hartman Oil CFH Racing Chevrolet, earned his fourth podium finish of the season.

Power, the reigning series champion, finished fourth in the No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet and Carlos Munoz was fifth in the No. 26 AndrettiTV Cinsay Honda for Andretti Autosport.

"We came through the field several times and the team gave me what we needed," said Hunter-Reay, who overtook rookie Gabby Chaves on Lap 196 in Turn 1 and won under caution. "This team has given me great race cars over the years and this was one of them. I hope the fans enjoyed the show because it was fun in the race car."

On the next lap, Chaves' No. 98 Bowers & Wilkins/Curb Honda for BHA with Curb-Agajanian was trailing smoke, which caused the final caution. Chaves, who qualified 16th, led 31 laps.

ABC Supply 500 Race Results

LONG POND, Pa.- Results Sunday of the ABC Supply 500 Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 2.5-mile Pocono Raceway, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, aero kit-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (8) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 200, Running
2. (4) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 200, Running
3. (19) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 200, Running
4. (3) Will Power, Chevrolet, 200, Running
5. (6) Carlos Munoz, Honda, 200, Running
6. (9) Takuma Sato, Honda, 200, Running
7. (2) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 200, Running
8. (18) Ryan Briscoe, Honda, 200, Running
9. (11) Scott Dixon, Chevrolet, 200, Running
10. (15) James Jakes, Honda, 200, Running
11. (16) Gabby Chaves, Honda, 197, Mechanical
12. (23) Charlie Kimball, Chevrolet, 193, Mechanical
13. (17) Pippa Mann, Honda, 185, Running
14. (20) Sage Karam, Chevrolet, 179, Contact
15. (7) Justin Wilson, Honda, 179, Contact
16. (1) Helio Castroneves, Chevrolet, 166, Contact
17. (21) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, 156, Mechanical
18. (22) Marco Andretti, Honda, 138, Contact
19. (12) Tony Kanaan, Chevrolet, 131, Contact
20. (5) Graham Rahal, Honda, 92, Contact
21. (13) Tristan Vautier, Honda, 92, Contact
22. (14) Jack Hawksworth, Honda, 82, Contact
23. (10) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 36, Contact
24. (24) Stefano Coletti, Chevrolet, 19, Mechanical

Race Statistics
Winners average speed: 146.245
Time of Race: 03:25:08.1095
Margin of victory: Under Caution
Cautions: 12 for 74 laps
Lead changes: 33 among 12 drivers

Lap Leaders:
Castroneves 1-2
Newgarden 3-27
Pagenaud 28-32
Newgarden 33-54
Kanaan 55-64
Hunter-Reay 65
Pagenaud 66-68
Castroneves 69-71
Pagenaud 72-78
Castroneves 79-92
Kanaan 93-103
Pagenaud 104
Karam 105-106
Pagenaud 107
Castroneves 108-109
Chaves 110-114
Power 115-116
Chaves 117
Castroneves 118-120
Chaves 121-127
Hunter-Reay 128-134
Kimball 135
Chaves 136-138
Pagenaud 139-151
Hunter-Reay 152-164
Briscoe 165-167
Wilson 168-169
Hunter-Reay 170-172
Sato 173-174
Karam 175-176
Chaves 180-192
Sato 193
Chaves 194-195
Hunter-Reay 196-200

Verizon IndyCar Series point standings: Montoya 500, Rahal 466, Dixon 453, Power 439, Castroneves 423, Newgarden 413, Andretti 390, Bourdais 386, Kanaan 366, Pagenaud 356.
User avatar
Posts: 1489
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:15 pm

Return to Individual races 2015

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest