Texas Saturday afternoon

Texas Saturday afternoon

Postby meteorite » Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:06 am

No one seems to take the Indycar race on the Texas Motor Speedway completely seriously - in fact if the schedule I saw was correct, it wasn't even put on the air until the day after. This likely derives from its history; as a track built for NASCAR stock cars it has extreme banking in the corners where open-wheel cars, with their sophisticated aerodynamics, run through so fast drivers black out from the G-forces generated. Still, it counts for points, and here's Indycar's report on what happened:


FORT WORTH, Texas (Saturday, June 7, 2014) - Ed Carpenter held off Will Power and three other drivers during a restart shootout in the final three laps to win the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway by 0.5247 of a second.

It was the third career victory for the owner/driver and second for Ed Carpenter Racing this season. There have been six different winners, including Carpenter's teammate Mike Conway, in eight races.

"I just felt like we left some on the table in qualifying, but it made me extra motivated," said Carpenter, who qualified fifth in the No. 20 Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet. "I think we were for sure the car to beat at the end. I have loved this race track for a long time and had a lot of bad luck here. I have really always wanted to win here, so I'm super excited."

Carpenter, who led only a single lap in his previous 12 starts on the 1.455-mile, high-banked oval with a previous best finish of fourth, led 90 laps.

Juan Pablo Montoya finished a season-high third place in the No. 2 Verizon Team Penske car and Simon Pagenaud was fourth in the No. 77 Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports car. Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon placed fifth in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car, followed by teammate Tony Kanaan.

Power, the Verizon P1 Award winner in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, led more than half of the 248-lap race, but was issued a drive-through penalty because of a pit lane speed violation with 35 laps left.

He was sixth when the final yellow flag was shown on Lap 242, and race strategist Tim Cindric called in Power to pit two laps later for fresh tires. Following the restart, he overtook three cars to gain back most of the points he would have lost because of the penalty. Power has a 39-point lead over teammate Helio Castroneves in the championship heading to the doubleheader in Houston.

"I was really disappointed by (speeding) again, but what an awesome call by my team. It would have been a good battle there at the end, but to get the Verizon car second was just an awesome last lap," said Power, who has three runner-up finishes to complement his two victories this season. "One more lap and the guy with the tires is going to win."

Following the conclusion of the race, Verizon IndyCar Series officials reviewed the results and penalized #8 Briscoe, #17 Saavedra, #67 Newgarden and #83 Kimball 30 seconds for failing to follow the direction of Race Control (Rule Per Verizon IndyCar Series rules, lapped cars must fall to the rear of the field for restarts within the final 15 laps and all lapped cars were instructed to drive through the pits on Lap 244. #8 Briscoe and #67 Newgarden failed to drive through the pits and #17 Saavedra and #83 Kimball drove to the pits, but took service.

Verizon IndyCar Series

Firestone 600

FORT WORTH, Texas - Results Saturday of the Firestone 600 Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 1.455 mile Texas Motor Speedway, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (5) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running
2. (1) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running
3. (4) Juan Pablo Montoya, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running
4. (6) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 248, Running
5. (7) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running
6. (3) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 248, Running
7. (11) Mikhail Aleshin, Dallara-Honda, 247, Running
8. (14) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 247, Running
9. (13) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 247, Running
10. (15) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Chevy, 247, Running
11. (2) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 247, Running
12. (21) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 246, Running
13. (10) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Honda, 245, Running
14. (9) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 244, Running
15. (20) Jack Hawksworth, Dallara-Honda, 244, Running
16. (22) Carlos Huertas, Dallara-Honda, 244, Running
17. (19) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 244, Running
18. (16) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 238, Mechanical
19. (12) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 136, Mechanical
20. (18) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 118, Contact
21. (8) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 118, Contact
22. (17) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 3, Mechanical

Race Statistics

Winners average speed: 178.301
Time of Race: 02:01:25.5758
Margin of victory: 0.5247
Cautions: 3 for 23
Lead changes: 11 among 3 drivers

Lap Leaders:

Power 1 - 56
Montoya 57 - 60
Power 61 - 99
Montoya 100 - 102
Carpenter 103 - 125
Power 126 - 170
Carpenter 171
Montoya 172 - 177
Power 178 - 181
Carpenter 182 - 212
Power 213
Carpenter 214 - 248

Point Standings: Power 370, Castroneves 331, Hunter-Reay 310, Pagenaud 279, Andretti 235, Munoz 227, Montoya 223, Dixon 214. Kanaan 189, Wilson 182.
User avatar
Posts: 1489
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:15 pm

Return to Individual races 2014

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest