Texas (continued)

Texas (continued)

Postby meteorite » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:52 pm

Rahal wins closest finish in Texas Motor Speedway history

FORT WORTH, Texas (Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016) - Verizon IndyCar Series fans waited 76 days for the Firestone 600 to be completed at Texas Motor Speedway. It was definitely worth the wait.

Graham Rahal passed James Hinchcliffe coming out of the last turn of the last lap and held on for the win by 0.0080 of a second - the closest finish in the 20-year history of the 1.455-mile oval and the fifth-closest finish of any Indy car race in history.

"I didn't want to go through this year without a win," Rahal said. "On that last yellow, I was telling myself this could be my chance, you'd better get it done. We're just lucky it all worked out."

CLICK HERE: Firestone 600 box score

The nail-biting finish climaxed an evening of thrilling Verizon IndyCar Series racing as the event suspended by rain after 71 laps June 12 was completed under the lights at TMS. Eight drivers swapped the lead 14 times throughout the 248 laps (including the June portion), with Hinchcliffe setting the pace for 188 laps in the No. 5 Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda.

Hinchcliffe and Rahal led the field to the green flag on the final restart on Lap 240, with Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan and Simon Pagenaud the only other lead-lap cars giving chase. On fresher tires after making pit stops during the last caution period, championship leader Pagenaud and Kanaan each made bids for the lead that Hinchcliffe denied - often with the help of a push from behind by fellow Honda driver Rahal. At one point on Lap 244, the top four cars ran side by side.

On the final lap, Rahal ducked inside of Hinchcliffe in Turns 3 and 4 and pulled enough of an advantage to hold on by the narrowest of margins for his fourth career victory and first since winning at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in August 2015.

"I knew I was going to have to try to fake Hinch to the top side because there was only one way to actually clear him, which was to the bottom," said Rahal, the 14th driver to win an Indy car race by leading only the last lap and the first to do it since Hinchcliffe at Sao Paulo, Brazil, in 2013. "I was just very lucky it worked and I have to thank Hinch a lot because he gave me some good room at the bottom and it didn't end up in tears."

Hinchcliffe wasn't consoled by his best finish of the season and best since he won at NOLA Motorsports Park in April 2015.

"When we cleared Tony and it was just me and Graham coming down to the checkered, I thought the momentum is on the outside. I feel like I've kind of seen it here 10 times before in races in years past, and I thought we were still going to be able to do it.

"But, man, he rolled through the center of (Turns) 3 and 4 with a whole lot of speed. I hadn't been next to a car all night that cleared me that quickly. That was the time to make that move. It's just tough having a car like that and leading that many laps, but not the one that counted."

Kanaan wound up third, the 76th podium finish of his 19-year Indy car career (11th on the all-time list). Pagenaud finished fourth, upping his points advantage to 28 over teammate Will Power, who finished eighth, with two races remaining.

"Wow, that was exciting!" Pagenaud said. "I don't think I have any breath left. I thought we were going to get it, but when it went four wide I got touched and pushed me into (Hinchcliffe) and I had to back out of it or there was going to be a big wreck."

The race restarted with 20 of the 22 cars competing. Josef Newgarden and Conor Daly crashed on Lap 42 in June and were ruled ineligible for the completion because their cars could not have been repaired that day.

With the INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen (Sept. 4) and the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma (Sept. 18) remaining on the schedule, nine drivers remain mathematically alive for the 2016 championship: Pagenaud, Power, Kanaan, Castroneves, Newgarden, Scott Dixon, Rahal, Hinchcliffe and Carlos Munoz.

FORT WORTH, Texas - Results Saturday of the Firestone 600 Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 1.455-mile Texas Motor Speedway, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, aero kit-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (13) Graham Rahal, Honda, 248, Running
2. (10) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 248, Running
3. (8) Tony Kanaan, Chevrolet, 248, Running
4. (6) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 248, Running
5. (3) Helio Castroneves, Chevrolet, 248, Running
6. (15) Charlie Kimball, Chevrolet, 247, Running
7. (1) Carlos Munoz, Honda, 247, Running
8. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 247, Running
9. (17) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 246, Running
10. (18) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 246, Running
11. (9) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 246, Running
12. (12) Marco Andretti, Honda, 245, Running
13. (11) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 245, Running
14. (22) Gabby Chaves, Honda, 245, Running
15. (19) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 243, Running
16. (16) Mikhail Aleshin, Honda, 231, Contact
17. (20) Jack Hawksworth, Honda, 227, Contact
18. (14) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, 223, Contact
19. (2) Scott Dixon, Chevrolet, 211, Contact
20. (4) Takuma Sato, Honda, 160, Mechanical
21. (21) Conor Daly, Honda, 42, Contact
22. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 41, Contact

Race Statistics
Winner's average speed: 144.901
Time of Race: 02:29:24.8886
Margin of victory: 0.0080 of a second
Cautions: 5 for 53 laps
Lead changes: 14 among 8 drivers

Lap Leaders:
Munoz 1 - 37
Newgarden 38 - 39
Hunter-Reay 40
Hinchcliffe 41 - 74
Hunter-Reay 75 - 84
Hinchcliffe 85 - 120
Castroneves 121 - 126
Hinchcliffe 127 - 220
Carpenter 221
Hinchcliffe 222 - 225
Castroneves 226
Hinchcliffe 227 - 235
Kanaan 236
Hinchcliffe 237 - 247
Rahal 248

Verizon IndyCar Series point standings: Pagenaud 529, Power 501, Kanaan 416, Castroneves 415, Newgarden 406, Dixon 397, Rahal 394, Hinchcliffe 392, Munoz 382, Kimball 361.
User avatar
Posts: 1766
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:15 pm

Return to Individual races 2016

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest